A Brief History of Swansea Bay Golf Club

This historic and prestigious Golf Club founded in 1892 and constructed on the estate then owned by the Earl of Jersey, still remains proprietary owned today. This links course is a demanding Par 72, SSS 72 of some 6,459 yards and is a true test to every golfer, with tight lies and undulating fairways with numerous natural dunes to contend with.

The Greens are very true and responsive and are classed as one of the best in the area all year round. The 18th green that sits proud at the front of the Clubhouse makes its presence felt by its colossal length of 60 yards.


Hole 9 and 11 run parallel with the river Neath, with the 9th displaying a striking tidal inlet known as the Gulch, which is yet another unique and natural feature of this course.

The imposing, traditional, black and white Clubhouse is unmistakable as it sits at the gateway to Swansea. It was opened in 1902 by the Earl of Jersey and an original photograph depicting this grand occasion can be seen dominating the dining room. The balcony gives a bird's eye view of numerous holes enjoyed by many, especially on a warm summer's day.

In 1992 the Club celebrated its Centenary Year. To commemorate this occasion a selection of memorabilia was made, and a large photograph was taken of the Swansea Bay Members at this time.

This is on display at the Golf Club alongside the original photograph taken in 1902.

Visitors are enthralled by the true original character that still remains at the Club today.

A warm and friendly welcome is extended to all who visit Swansea Bay.
Swansea Bay Golf Club logo

Call Now to book your event - 01792 812198